Business Immigration NZ


New Zealand lies in the southern Pacific Ocean, 1,600 km east of Australia. It is made up of the North and South Islands and a number of smaller islands, with a total land area of 268,021 sq km.

Mountain ranges and hill country dominate New Zealand's landscape.
One of the most striking physical features is the Southern Alps. These, along with fiords, glaciers and lakes, and the coastal plains of Canterbury and Southland, add to the variety of the South Island scenery.

In the North Island, the volcanic interior contains New Zealand's largest lake, Lake Taupo.

Most of the country's active volcanoes - Ruapehu, Ngauruhoe and Tongariro - are all usually quiet, although Ruapehu has been active since September 1995.
Hot springs, geysers and mudpools also form part of the volcanic system centred around Rotorua.

  • Highest mountain Aoraki/Mt Cook (3,754 m)
  • Deepest lake Lake Hauroko (462 m)
  • Longest river Waikato River (425 km)
  • Largest glacier Tasman Glacier (28.5 km long)
  • Deepest cave Nettlebed (NW Nelson) (889 m)